Fatalism (Bedouin Records)

« Strings often provide tracks with a cinematic flourish, but while those flourishes can often be described with words like « achingly beautiful » or « elegantly exquisite, » they’re also capable of leading a piece of music down a much darker path, their groaning bellows evoking a mood of abject terror. That’s certainly the case on « Deafening [M]oon, a harrowing standout from GhOst, the latest album from fatalism (a.k.a. Bedouin label founder Salem Rashid). Oddly enough, the song’s moaning underbelly —which creaks and vibrates in a manner that feels almost primordial-was provided by double bass virtuoso Otto Lindholm, who also happens to be one half of Everything Falls Apart. That project, which also includes Ross Tones (a.k.a. Throwing Snow), has just released its self-titled debut LP, and « Somn 6 » is the record’s stunning opening number. A slow-boiling track that prefers dramatic tension to all-out terror, it’s imposing all the same, stretching its warbling tones and guttural undulations across eight minutes that are anything but relaxing. » Words by Shawn Reynaldo / First Floor Magazine

Track List
A1 Foreshadow 06:35
A2 Deafening [M]oon 07:06
A3 Gh0st I 04:24
B1 My Grip, Your Neck 07:44
B2 Gh0st II 03:59
B3 Lanesplitter 04:55
B4 Deliverance 07:35

Released Date 17 octobre 2023

All written and produced by Salem R.T. Skourlis
fatalism : Computer / Synths / Bass Guitar / Piano / Field Recordings
Constantine Skourlis : Mixed By / Engineering / Piano / Additional Production
SPR : Additional Production / Sound Design (Track 6)
Otto Lindholm : Halldorobass (Track 2)
Don : Recording Engineer at Studio 9, Athens (Track 2)
Andreas [LUPO] Lubich: Mastering & Cut at Loop-0
Recorded between Athens (Winter 2022) & Bangkok (Spring 2023)

runurunu : Album Artwork
Takashi Makabe : Layout & Design
Lala : Additional Design

P+C Bedouin Records / fatalism 2023
all rights reserved

fatalism.live / www.bedouinrecords.com